Crimes Pertaining to People Under 21 Years of Age
Some crimes pertain specifically to people under the age of 21. It is crucial to retain representation that is familiar with the differences between the laws for under 21 years old and how to best defend against them. Our Georgia Criminal Defense Attorneys are confident and knowledgeable regarding crimes for people under 21 years of old. We understand the differences in being under 21 and over 21 years of age and know how to obtain the best possible result.
Georgia Crimes that Pertain to People Under the Age of 21
- Curfew Violation in Regards to Permit: Minors are subject to a driving curfew and most cities in Georgia also have a time when minors should not be out. It is important to know the differences between the two and understand the exceptions.
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI): While the legal drinking age is 21, people under 21 can still be charged with driving under the influence. The BAC limit is lowered from .08 to .02. While the BAC limit may be lowered, the punishments are not. It is critical to call a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer if you or a loved one has been charged with an underage DUI in Georgia.
- Minor in Possession (MIP): People under 21 years of age are prohibited from drinking, possessing, and purchasing alcohol. A MIP charge will have a lasting impression on their life. The consequences are severe and far-reaching.
- Permit Violation in Regards to Non-Family Members in the Car: Drivers under 18 years of age must follow steps in order to have non-family members in car. It takes a long time and a requirement that the driver is free from other traffic violations in order to obtain a license where there are no restrictions on people in the car.
- Teen and Young Adult Criminal Defense: There are many crimes that teens and young adults can be charged with in Georgia. They include criminal damage to property, shoplifting, stalking, DUI, MIP, and many more. It is critical to hire an attorney if your teen has been charged with an offense.
- Teen and Young Adult Traffic Ticket Defense: Drivers under 21 years of age face greater punishments than those over 21. A six-month license suspension is a common penalty.
Penalty for A Conviction
Penalties for a conviction when less than 21 years of ago can range from a license suspension to jail time to fines. A Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney can try to negotiate a dismissal or reduction of the charges in exchange for community service, completion of a clinical evaluation or drug and alcohol classes. Furthermore, first time offenders may be able to work out a deal with the prosecutor where charges will be dropped after enrollment in a pretrial diversion program. There are lots of options a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Georgia can use to achieve a favorable outcome in your case.
Contact Us Today
Lawson and Berry has over 50 combined years of experience in defense work so let their experience work for you today. They understand that crime does not follow regular working hours so their office is available nights, weekends, and holidays. Contact them today for a free case evaluation.