Have You Been Charged with Your Third DUI in Georgia?
If convicted of a 3rd Georgia DUI, you are facing the harshest of misdemeanor punishments. Additionally, if this is your third DUI in five years, you will be labeled a habitual violator and face a five-year license suspension. The penalties for a third DUI are significant, and your case requires the expertise of an experienced Georgia DUI Attorney. We have former prosecutors on our team that were trained by the same people prosecuting your case. We can help you avoid the serious DUI penalties associated with a third DUI in Georgia. Call now for a free case evaluation.
30 Day Warning!
If you have been charged with your third DUI in Georgia, you only have 30 days to appeal the suspension of your driver's license. A failure to file for an ALS hearing will result in the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Furthermore, if you refused the state's chemical test, your license will automatically be suspended for one year without an option for a limited permit.
Penalties for Your Third DUI in Georgia
In Georgia, a 3rd DUI conviction is typically still treated as a misdemeanor but may also be a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature. If charged with a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature, expect the fines to be near $5,000 as well as increased jail terms. For a third DUI in Georgia, Georgia law dictates that the accused must serve a minimum of 15 days in jail, but prosecutors and judges often assign more time upon conviction. Third DUI punishments in Georgia can include:
- Fines between $1,000-$5,000
- 120 days - 12 months in jail (Minimum of 15 days are required to be served)
- 12-36 months of probation
- 240 hours (30 days) of community service
- 5 year driver's license suspension
- License plate surrender
- DUI Court programs
- 17 weeks of alcohol and drug counseling
- Mandatory drug or alcohol treatment program
- Publication of photo in the local newspaper
- Being declared a habitual violator
If this is your third DUI conviction within 5 years in Georgia, then you must pay a $25 fee to publish a notice of your conviction and a photograph in your county newspaper. You must also surrender your license plates to all vehicles registered in your name.
If convicted of DUI, that mark will stay on your record for the rest of your life. While community service and jail time will eventually end, your DUI conviction could impact you for the rest of your life. Multiple DUI convictions on your record can make it difficult to obtain employment, apply for scholarships, receive credit, or apply for housing.
License Suspension for 3rd DUI in Georgia
In addition to hefty fines and jail time, a third DUI in Georgia within 5 years will come with a 5 year driver's license suspension. There is no limited permit available for the first two years. This is referred to as a “hard suspension.” After two years, you may become eligible for a probationary license if you meet certain conditions with the court's permission. You must have completed DUI school and submit to a clinical evaluation for alcohol and drug dependency. The assessment will likely lead to a requirement of completion of an alcohol or drug treatment program. Prior convictions on the driver's history may make them ineligible for the probationary license. They include moving violations, underage alcohol offenses, and drug or marijuana offenses.
If you are granted a probationary license, you may be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device. Installation and maintenance for the interlock device can be expensive ranging from $50-$150 per month.
Habitual Violator Status
Being a habitual violator is not a crime in and of itself. It is a status after you have committed three major offenses within a 5 year period. If you have been declared a habitual violator, then your license will be suspended for up to 5 years. After 2 years, you may be able to qualify for a special permit. For more information on habitual violator in Georgia, please visit our page here.
We Can Help if You Have Been Charged with Your Third Georgia DUI
It is imperative that you understand you do not have to face these harsh consequences. As experienced Georgia DUI Attorneys, we will work hard to protect you from receiving the maximum punishments. Georgia DUI laws give the prosecutors and judges tremendous discretion in sentencing. Our lawyers use our extensive knowledge of the law, the specifics of your case, and a good working relationship with the prosecutor to reach an agreeable deal. However, if an agreement cannot be reached, we are just as confident in taking your case to trial to achieve the best result. We want you to understand that there is hope for your situation! There are various Georgia DUI Defenses we can use to support your case.
The punishments for a Third DUI in Georgia are very severe in hopes of deterring people from getting in trouble again. There is no doubt that these consequences will impact you, your family, your job, and your future. Our Georgia 3rd DUI Attorneys have represented thousands of repeat DUI offenders and know how to be successful in your case.
A third DUI in Georgia is a serious matter. To achieve your desired outcome, you must hire an experienced and knowledgeable DUI lawyer. Our attorneys have been practicing DUI law in Georgia for over 20 years and will advise you on what to expect after your arrest. We will walk you through every step of the process and inform you of your options. Let us take the pressure off you and get started on your best defense. Call now.