Georgia DUI Consequences
A DUI in Georgia comes with significant consequences including jail time, heavy fines, counseling, license suspension, and more. Further, DUI's can treated as either a misdemeanor or a felony offense. If characterized as a felony, it could make it difficult obtain employment, housing, or credit. The consequences of a DUI charge make it imperative that you hire a Georgia DUI Lawyer. Don't take a chance in representing yourself or hiring a general practitioner. You need an attorney that has significant experience in Georgia DUI's in order to receive the best outcome possible.
There are two types of Georgia DUI Consequences: Administrative license suspension and consequences resulting from a DUI conviction.
Administrative License Suspension
When a driver is charged with a DUI, there is a possibility of an administrative license suspension of your Georgia driver's license. This is separate from the DUI criminal proceeding and can affect your ability to drive before your DUI case is resolved.
After the arrest, you have 30 business days to file an appeal to prevent the suspension of your license. This is generally referred to as the 30-day letter. You have the option to request a hearing (referred to as the Administrative License Hearing or ALS) or install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If neither of these are completed within the 30 days, then your license will be suspended for a year.
Georgia DUI Proceeding
The DUI case is separate from the ALS hearing. For your 1st DUI conviction, the maximum consequences are a fine of up to $1,000, 1 year in jail, or both. The minimum consequences are 24 hours in jail and a $300.00 fine. Other consequences include 40 hours of community service, 12 months probation, DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Course or a substance abuse evaluation.
The penalties are elevated if this is your second DUI within 10 years. The minimum is 72 hours in jail with a fine of $600.00, 240 hours of community service, 12 months probation, DUI School, and a substance abuse evaluation. The maximum you could receive is a fine of $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail.
A third and subsequent DUI within 10 years becomes a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature. The minimum increases to 15 days in jail, $1,000 fine, 240 hours community service, DUI school, 12 months probation, substance abuse evaluation, and anything else the judge orders. The maximum for a third DUI within 10 years in Georgia is 12 months in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Contact Us Today
As explained above, the consequences for a DUI conviction are substantial and it is in your best interest to hire a Georgia DUI Attorney to try and work out a deal. Convictions affect more that just your driving privileges so don't waste any time in hiring a Georgia Lawyer. Our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week so call us today and schedule a free case evaluation.