Have You Received a Super Speeder Notification in Georgia?
Georgia defines a Super Speeder as a driver convicted of speeding at 75mph or more on a two-lane road or 85 mph or more on any road or highway in Georgia. In addition to any fees and punishments assessed by the Court, a Super Speeder must pay an extra $200 fee to the state. If this payment is not made within 120 days, the driver's license will be suspended. It is critical to retain a Georgia Super Speeder Lawyer from the very beginning. There is hope if charged! Call us now.
Super Speeder Laws in Georgia
Georgia law O.C.G.A. §40-6-189 was created with public safety in mind. Any person classified as a super speeder will be required to pay a fee of $200 to the state.
Many people find it difficult to understand when the super speeder applies. According to O.C.G.A. §40-6-187(a), “two-lane road or highway” means “a road or highway with two lanes for through-traffic movement exclusive of any portion of the road or highway adjoining the traveled way for parking, speed change, turning, weaving, truck climbing, or other purposes supplementary to through-traffic movement.”
Therefore, super speeder will apply if you are going 75 mph on a two-lane road. If you are driving on a highway in Georgia, super speeder applies if you are going 85mph. The important thing to note is that the speed limit is irrelevant in either situation.
Here are some examples where super speeder will apply even though the speed limits differ:
- 75 MPH in a 55 zone (2 lane road) = Super Speeder
- 85 MPH in a 55 zone (highway) = Super Speeder
- 85 MPH in a 60 zone (highway) = Super Speeder
- 85 MPH in a 65 zone (highway) = Super Speeder
- 85 MPH in a 70 zone (interstate highway) = Super Speeder
How Do I Know I Have Been Declared a Super Speeder?
The Department of Driver Services (DDS) will notify you via first-class mail of the Super Speeder violation. This will happen after you have been convicted for speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or 85 mph on a highway. The letter will come to the address listed on your driver's license. If your address is incorrect on your license, then you may not receive the letter, and your license could be suspended without you knowing. This is one of many reasons why it is critical that you keep the address on your license up to date and correct.
How do I pay the Super Speeder Fine in Georgia?
There are multiple ways that you can pay the Super Speeder fine.
- First, by paying online at DDS.
- The second way is paying by mail. You can mail a check, money order, or cashier's check made payable to
DDS to Dept. of Driver Services, CSLR
P.O. Box 80477
Conyers, GA 30013.
If paying by mail, include a copy of your super speeder notice with your check, money order, cashier's check or credit card authorization form.
- Lastly, you can pay in person at a DDS Customer Service Center that is convenient for you. Bring your Super Speeder notice when visiting the office.
Our Super Speeder Lawyers in Georgia advise you to pay online. It is the fastest, most secure, and least likely to cause problems later on such as mail getting lost.
The Fee for a Super Speeder Violation in Georgia
First, many people are unaware that the $200 Super Speeder fine is separate from the Court fines.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services assesses the $200 Super Speeder fee. Essentially, you are punished twice, once, by the Court and once by DDS. Therefore, the $200 fee is not paid to the Court. You may pay fines at your court appearance but they will not include this $200 fine.
Many of our clients ask if any additional points are added to their record for being declared a Super Speeder. The answer is no. Points will not be added for being declared a Super Speeder or for not paying the Super Speeder fee.
The Penalty for Failing to Pay the Super Speeder Fee in Georgia
The penalty for failing to pay the Super Speeder fine within 120 days of the notice will be a license suspension. If you miss your fine payment notice because of an address change, you will also miss the suspension notice. As a result, you will not even know your license is suspended.To get your license reinstated, an additional $50 reinstatement fee will be due along with the $200 Super Speeder Fee.
If the fee continues to go unpaid, then the next time you are stopped for an ordinary traffic violation, you will be arrested and taken to jail because of the license suspension. You could face a minimum jail term of 2 days and a fine of at least $500 if convicted of driving on a suspended license. Furthermore, your license will be suspended for an additional 6 months due to driving on a suspended license.
People try to argue that they did not receive a notice because of an address change, but the Court does not accept this defense. We urge our clients and all drivers to make sure your license is correct all the time but especially if charged with any traffic violation.
What if I am an Out of State Driver and Receive a Notice for Super Speeder?
Out of state drivers are subject to the same requirements as Georgia drivers. If the $200 Super Speeder fee is not paid, then DDS will impose a suspension of your non-resident driving privileges in Georgia. Then the DDS will report the suspension to your home state licensing authority. Most states honor out of state license suspensions.
Contact Us if Charged with a Super Speeder Violation
Our Georgia Traffic Ticket Attorneys help people every day with traffic tickets. We are skilled negotiators, and there are many alternative outcomes to being convicted of a Super Speeder violation. However, the key is to call us from the initial ticket. There is hope for you! Many times the speed can be reduced. For young drivers, that are programs available as alternative sentences to the traffic violation. Contact us now and see how we can help with your case!