Have you Been Charged with Giving a False Report of a Crime in Georgia?
While giving a false report of a crime may not seem as serious of a crime as murder or robbery, it will still have consequences on your life. If you or a loved one have been charged with giving a false report of a crime, contact our offices today. Our False Report of a Crime Lawyers in Georgia have over 50 years of criminal experience and have handled all types of cases. They are here to give you advice and help you reach a favorable outcome in your case. Don't delay, contact our offices today.
What is a False Report of a Crime in Georgia?
O.C.G.A. § 16-10-26 states that a person will be guilty of giving a false report of a crime when they willfully and knowingly give or cause a false report of a crime to be provided to any law enforcement office or agency.
Penalty for Giving a False Report of a Crime in Georgia
A person convicted of offering a false report of a crime in Georgia will be guilty of a misdemeanor. Misdemeanors come with a punishment of up to one year in prison, a fine up to $1,000, or both.
False Report of a Crime Defenses
It was not done knowingly: If you believed the information to be correct and did not mean to give false information, you may not be guilty of a crime.
What are Not Defenses
I was not the one who gave the false report: Even if you did not directly provide the report, if you caused false information to be given to law enforcement, you could still be guilty of a crime.
Let Georgia's premier criminal defense law firm assist with your case today. Our experience can help you reach a positive outcome in your case. A charge is not the same as a conviction so do not just accept the consequences. Contact our offices today to speak with an experienced Georgia False Report of a Crime Attorney.