Have You Been Charged with Your First DUI in Georgia?
In Georgia, drivers who are impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). There are two different ways you can be charged: DUI per se and DUI less safe. A first DUI offense in Georgia is a misdemeanor charge. However, this does not mean that the consequences are minor. The minimum penalties for a first DUI in Georgia can lead to jail time and a suspension of your driver's license.
If you have been charged with your first DUI in Georgia, you need an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer.
30 Day Warning!
If you have been charged with a DUI in Georgia, you only have 30 days to appeal the suspension of your driver's license or to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. A failure to file for an ALS hearing or to install the device will result in the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Furthermore, if you refused the state's chemical test, your license will automatically be suspended for one year without an option for a limited permit.
Penalties for Your First DUI in Georgia
Even though a misdemeanor is not a serious as a felony charge, the punishment for a DUI can have a significant impact on your life. First DUI punishments in Georgia can include:
- Fines between $300-$1,000
- 1-10 days in jail
- 12 months of probation
- 40 hours of community service
- Driver's license suspension
- Alcohol and drug counseling
- Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment program
- DUI school
If sentenced to probation instead of jail time, there will be monthly probation fees along with possible drug testing fees. Generally, the fines amount to over $1,000 after court costs and surcharges are added.
If convicted of DUI, that mark will stay on your record for the rest of your life. While community service and jail time will eventually end, your DUI conviction could impact you for the rest of your life. A DUI conviction on your record can make it difficult to obtain employment, apply for scholarships, or receive credit.
You Do Not Have to Face These Punishments
It is very important that you understand you do not have to face these harsh consequences. As experienced Georgia DUI Attorneys, we will work hard to protect you from unnecessary consequences of DUI charges. We will help you decide whether filing the 30-day letter or installing the ignition interlock device is the best decision for your case. If we agree that the ALS hearing is the best decision, we will file the letter for you and handle the administrative license hearing without you having to take off work. The goal of this hearing is to stop the suspension of your Georgia driver's license. After that, then we will work on defending against the State's case against you. We specialize in driving under the influence law and have defended over 9,000 Georgia DUI cases. We will make sure you do not have serious and long term penalties for your first Georgia DUI case.
Call our First DUI Lawyers in Georgia now for a free case evaluation. We have been practicing DUI law in Georgia for over 20 years and will advise you on what to expect after your arrest. We will walk you through every step of the process and inform you of your options. Let us take the pressure off you and get started on your best defense. Call now.