Have You Been Charged with a Permit Violation in Regards to Having Non-Family Members in your Car in Georgia?
TADRA (Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act) is a graduated driver's license program for young drivers aged 15 to 18. It is a three-step process that allows young drivers to gain more experience behind the wheel with certain restrictions in place. Curfews, passengers, and testing are just some of the categories covered under TADRA. Complying with the requirements allows the driver to move to the next stage and eventually receive a full unrestricted license.
There are three steps in the TADRA process:
- First is an instructional permit. (Class CP)
- Second, is a provisional license or called an intermediate license. (Class D)
- Lastly, is the full driver's license. (Class C)
When Can Non-Family Members Legally Ride in the Car in Georgia?
If the minor has a permit (Class CP), then they can only operate the vehicle when accompanied by a person at least 21 years old that is licensed to drive a Class C vehicle. They must sit in the passenger seat.
A Class D license is granted to people 16 and 17 years old that held their Class CP permit for 12 months and one day and did not have any major traffic violations. During the first six months after issuance, only immediate family members may ride in the vehicle. Immediate family includes the driver's parents, step-parents, grandparents, siblings, step-siblings, children, and any other person who residence at the driver's home. During the second six months after issuance, the driver can have one passenger under 21 who is not a member of the driver's family in the car with them. After twelve months, three passengers under 21 years that are not family members are allowed to ride in the vehicle.
Class D holders may apply for a Class C driver's license after reaching 18 years of age where there is no limit on who can ride in the vehicle.
The Penalty for Driving with Passengers in Georgia
The penalty for driving with non-family members in the car varies but is generally punished by a fine. However, failing to comply with the law can lead to a suspension of the license and prevent or hinder the minor from getting a full Class C license.
Our Georgia Criminal Defense Attorneys practice in every county in Georgia and know the ins and outs of each court. We are familiar with the prosecutors and judges, and that makes all the difference. We understand how to negotiate and how to reduce your penalties. Call now and see how we can assist with your case.