Georgia DUI Penalties

Georgia DUI Penalties

The penalty for receiving a DUI in Georgia can be substantial. Not only is your driver's license at risk but there are significant other consequences. Even though there are harsh penalties, your case can be defendant and penalties minimized. However, you will need the assistance of an experienced DUI Attorney. Our priority is analyzing your case and looking for potential defenses to help limit your penalties.

Georgia DUI Penalties are directly tied to the number of the offense. A first DUI will have different penalties than a second DUI and so forth.

A person convicted of a 1st DUI may have some of the following penalties:

  • 12 months of probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Between 1-10 days in jail
  • Suspension of driver's license
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • Completion of a DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Attendance of a MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) Victim Impact Panel

A person charged with a 2nd DUI in Georgia will potentially have the following penalties:

  • Jail time between 90 days and 12 months with the possibility of some of it being done through probation
  • Fines between $600 and $1000, not including court costs
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Completed of DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Driver's license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Substance abuse counseling

A person convicted of a 3rd DUI in Georgia will be charged with a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature and potentially face the following penalties:

  • Jail time between 120 days to 12 months
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Between $1000 and $5000 in fines, plus court costs and surcharges
  • DUI School
  • Five years of driver's license suspension (with an interlock permit available after two years)
  • License plate surrender
  • Receive Habitual Violator Status
  • Publication of photo in the accused's home county

A person charged with a 4th and subsequent DUI in Georgia potentially faces the following penalties:

  • Felony convictions, which can impact getting a job, obtaining housing, or credit)
  • Between 1-5 years in prison
  • Suspended driver's license for 10 years
  • $1000-$5000 in fines
  • 480 hours of community service
  • DUI school
  • License pate surrender
  • Potential DUI Court
  • Mandatory alcohol and drug abuse counseling
  • Photo publication in your home county

Contact Georgia's Premier DUI Defense Team

Our office never assumes that you are guilty! The discussion of potential penalties is a worst case scenario. There are many legal and factual defenses that may apply to your case and we will explore every option before discussing penalties. We understand that every case is different and your idea of a good outcome may differ from ours. We will take the time to listen to you and figure out how to get the best outcome possible. Our offices are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to help you with this decision and walk you through the process! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!