Georgia Criminal Defense Blog

70 Year Old Georgian Convicted of Child Molestation

Posted by Richard Lawson | Sep 21, 2019 | 0 Comments

As a Georgia Sex Crimes Lawyer, there have been a lot of stories about sex trafficking as well as child molestation in the news recently.

One of the most recent stories is about a 70-year-old man who has been convicted of child molestation in Cobb County. According to the court reports, the abuse began when the victim was 6 years old and continued until she was 11 years old. She only reported the incidents after consulting with a therapist for years. She told the jury the abuse started with “seemingly unintentional touches.” And the abuse progressed over time according to the prosecutors assigned to the case.

In today's post, I will outline the offense of child molestation in the state of Georgia.

Child Molestation in Georgia

Child Molestation in Georgia is outlined in O.C.G.A. § 16-6-4 of the Georgia Code as:

A person commits the offense of child molestation when such person:

(1) Does any immoral or indecent act to or in the presence of or with any child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person; or

(2) By means of an electronic device, transmits images of a person engaging in, inducing, or otherwise participating in any immoral or indecent act to a child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person.

A person convicted of a first offense of child molestation shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than five nor more than 20 years. Upon a defendant being incarcerated on a conviction for a first offense, the Department of Corrections shall provide counseling to such defendant. Upon a second or subsequent conviction of an offense of child molestation, the defendant shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than ten years nor more than 30 years or by imprisonment for life.

However, if the victim is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the person convicted of child molestation is 18 years of age or younger and is no more than four years older than the victim, such person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Practice Note

Sex crimes in Georgia are viewed more seriously in the state of Georgia, but as far as criminal offenses go - there are many similarities. A person can be wrongly accused of a sex crime just as with any other type of crime.

Contact a Georgia Sex Crimes Attorney if you or a loved one has been arrested for a sexual offense in the state of Georgia.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense. He exclusively handles DUI Cases. As a former DUI Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. You only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!

Menu