Georgia Criminal Defense Blog

Atlanta Teachers Accused of Zip-Tying Students’ Hands as Punishment

Posted by Richard Lawson | Sep 29, 2018 | 0 Comments

Two pre-kindergarten teachers have recently resigned after two young girls accused them of tying their hands behind their backs with zip-ties as a form of punishment in DeKalb County.

As of right now, the names of the teachers have not been released, and according to school authorities as well as investigators, there is a very thorough investigation under way.

As an Atlanta Criminal Defense Lawyer and in light of the most recent story, I will focus today's post on the offense child cruelty in the state of Georgia.

Child Cruelty in Georgia

The Georgia Code divides cruelty to children in Georgia into three different degrees and defines each offense as outlined below.

  • 1st Degree Cruelty to Children: When a parent, guardian, or other person supervising a child under the age of 18 willfully deprives the child of necessary sustenance to the extent that the child's well-being is jeopardized or when a person maliciously causes a child under the age of 18 cruel or excessive physical or mental pain. O.C.G.A. §16-5-70(a-b). First-degree cruelty to children is classified as a felony in Georgia, and the penalty can include a prison sentence of five to twenty years.
  • 2nd Degree Cruelty to Children: When a person with criminal negligence causes a child less than 18 years old cruel or excessive physical or mental pain. O.C.G.A. §16-5-70(c). Second-degree cruelty to children is also classified as a felony in Georgia, and the penalty can include a prison sentence of one to ten years.
  • 3rd Degree Cruelty to Children: When a person, who is the primary aggressor, intentionally allows a child under the age of 18 to witness the commission of a forcible felony, battery, or family violence battery; or having knowledge that a child under the age of 18 is present and sees or hears the act, commits a forcible felony, battery, or family violence battery. O.C.G.A. §16-5-70(d). Third-degree cruelty to children is classified as a misdemeanor in Georgia, and the penalty can include a jail sentence of up to 12 months and a fine of $1,000.

Practice Note

The case involving the two different toddlers is still under investigation. It is currently unknown whether the teachers will be facing any charges. 

Both teachers have resigned from the elementary school. 

If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact an Atlanta Criminal Defense Attorney today.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense. He exclusively handles DUI Cases. As a former DUI Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. You only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!

Menu