Georgia Criminal Defense Blog

Buford Man Accused for Setting Home on Fire

Posted by Richard Lawson | May 27, 2020 | 0 Comments

Hall County Courthouse

Buford, Ga. - Hall County officers arrested a man after he was rescued from a house fire. According to reports, police responded to the residence off of Friendship Farm Drive Saturday afternoon after being called there regarding a domestic dispute.

It is believed that the man was previously involved in a physical altercation with a woman and minor girl before he locked himself inside the house. It is then believed that he intentionally set the home on fire.

Firefighters arrived at the scene and entered the residence. They were able to extinguish the fire as well as locate the man. He was discovered unconscious on the second story of the home. He was immediately taken to a local medical center and reports show that he is expected to survive.

He is facing charges of arson, battery, and disorderly conduct. As a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer,  I will cover the different degrees of the crime of arson in today's post.

Arson in Georgia

Georgia Law breaks down the crime of arson into three different degrees. See below.

The Georgia Code defines first-degree arson in Georgia as:

A person will be guilty of arson in the first degree when by means of fire or explosive, whether or not in the commission of a felony, he or she knowingly damages or knowingly causes, aids, abets, advises, encourages, hires, counsels, or procures another to damage any dwelling house of another or any building, vehicle, railroad car, watercraft, or other structure of another…

First-degree arson is classified as a felony in the state of Georgia. The penalty can include a prison sentence of one to twenty years, a fine up to $50,000, or both.

The Georgia Code defines second-degree arson in Georgia as:

A person will be guilty of arson in the second degree when by means of fire or explosive, whether or not in the commission of a felony, he or she knowingly damages or knowingly causes, aids, abets, advises, encourages, hires, counsels, or procures another to damage…

Second-degree arson is classified as a felony in the state of Georgia. The penalty can include a prison sentence of one to ten years, a fine up to $25,000, or both. 

The Georgia Code defines third-degree arson in Georgia as:

A person will be guilty of arson in the third degree when by means of fire or explosive, whether or not in the commission of a felony, he or she knowingly damages or knowingly causes, aids, abets, advises, encourages, hires, counsels, or procures another to damage any personal property.

Third-degree arson is classified as a felony in the state of Georgia. The penalty can include a prison sentence of one to five years, a fine up to $10,000, or both.

Practice Note

If you or a loved one has been arrested, call our offices now.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense and Criminal Defense. As a former Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. In DUI cases, you only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!

Menu