A recent story reported a man, David Breazeal, took a knife into an elementary school in Troup County. He is currently facing a charge of possession of a weapon while on school property. He has allegedly done the same thing on other school campuses including another school in LaGrange.
The weirdest part is that Brezeal doesn't even have a child enrolled in either of the schools. He signed in during a Parents Night at the school and was found by school staff in a media room. No one was injured but the mere fact that he was on school ground with a weapon is illegal in Georgia.
Weapons Offenses and Dangerous Instrumentalities in Georgia are taken very seriously. Weapon offenses are technically violations of laws that regulate and control the instrumentalities of weapons. Most crimes involving weapons come with strict punishments.
Let's look at what Georgia law says about carrying a weapon onto school property.
The Georgia Code outlines the offense of carrying weapons within school safety zones, at school functions, or on to school property in O.C.G.A. §16-11-127.1.
It's important to know what Georgia considers a weapon, which is also outlined by the same statute.
- Any weapon designed/intended to propel a missile of any kind
- Bowie knife
- Ballistic Knife
- Any knife having a blade of two or more inches
- Straight-edge Razor
- Razor Blade
- Spring Stick
- Knuckles (made from metal, thermoplastic, wood, or similar material)
- Any bludgeon-type weapon
- Any flailing instrument consisting or two or more rigid parts connected in such a manner as to allow them to swing freely such as a nun chuck
- Fighting Chain
- Any disc having two or more pointed blades which is designed to be thrown or propelled such as a throwing star or oriental dart
- Any stun gun or taser
The punishments vary for violations of this statute.
If the accused is a licensed weapon carrier, then he or she will be guilty of a misdemeanor if convicted. This means that he or she will face up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $1,000 or both.
If the accused does not have a license to carry the weapon, then he or she will be guilty of a felony if convicted. This means that he or she will face two to ten years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
If the accused is found with a more dangerous weapon such as a machine gun, he or she will be guilty of a felony if convicted. This means that he or she will face five to ten years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a weapon offense in Georgia, contact a top-rated Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer today. The penalties are severe, and a Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney can best defend your case by utilizing the most applicable Georgia Criminal Defenses.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment