Jazmine Hinson and Marvin Adkinson were arrested on child cruelty charges in Gwinnett County after police found their baby in a closet covered in bruises and burns. The baby also reportedly had several broken bones.
Adkinson's mother, Rhonda Bennett, was the first to call police after she met the baby earlier this year. She was very suspicious after she noticed wounds on the child.
“I started looking at her body, and there was just all types of wounds,” Bennett said.
Cruelty to Children in Georgia
By law, cruelty to children in Georgia is broken down into three different degrees.
- Cruelty to children in the first degree: When a parent, guardian, or other person supervising a child under the age of 18 willfully deprives the child of necessary sustenance to the extent that the child's well being is jeopardized. In addition, cruelty to children in the first degree includes when a person maliciously causes a child under the age of 18 cruel or excessive physical or mental pain.
- Cruelty to children in the second degree: when a person with criminal negligence causes a child less than 18 years old cruel or excessive physical or mental pain.
- Cruelty to children in the third degree: when either a person, who is the primary aggressor, intentionally allows a child under the age of 18 to witness the commission of a forcible felony, battery, or family violence battery; or a person, who is the primary aggressor, having knowledge that a child under the age of 18 is present and sees or hears the act, commits a forcible felony, battery, or family violence battery.
The consequences of a cruelty to children conviction depend completely on the degree of the offense. The penalty for being convicted of first-degree cruelty to children in Georgia is a prison term between five and twenty years. It will be treated as a felony conviction. The penalty for being convicted of second-degree cruelty to children in Georgia is a prison term between one and ten years and it is also a felony conviction. The penalty for being convicted of cruelty to children in the third degree in Georgia can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony. The first or second conviction will be treated as a misdemeanor. The punishment will include a period of confinement and a fine.
According to reports, Hinson allegedly admitted to hitting the baby as well as leaving the baby in a closet while she and her boyfriend went out to eat. Her boyfriend's mother, however, believes that her son wasn't nearly as responsible as Hinson claims.
As a firm with over 50 years of experience in Georgia Criminal Defense - we know that things are not always as they seem. An arrest does not mean guilt. If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact our offices today. A Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney can help you now.