According to reports out of Gwinnett County, a 40-year-old man has been arrested for child molestation after allegedly inappropriately touching a 7-year-old girl.
He apparently fled from police when officers arrived on the scene.
In today's post, I will outline the law behind child molestation in the state of Georgia. As a Georgia Sex Crimes Lawyer, I will not only elaborate on the law but the consequences if convicted of the crime.
Child Molestation in Georgia
Georgia Law defines child molestation in Georgia in the first part of O.C.G.A. §16-6-4 as:
A person commits the offense of child molestation when such person:
(1) Does any immoral or indecent act to or in the presence of or with any child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person; or
(2) By means of an electronic device, transmits images of a person engaging in, inducing, or otherwise participating in any immoral or indecent act to a child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person.
If convicted of child molestation, a person will be guilty of a felony. For the first child molestation conviction, a person will face a sentence of five to twenty years in prison. For a second or subsequent conviction of child molestation, the punishment increases to a prison term between ten and thirty years or life in prison.
The second part of O.C.G.A. §16-6-4 outlines the elevated offense of aggravated child molestation in Georgia as:
A person commits the offense of aggravated child molestation when such person commits an offense of child molestation which act physically injures the child or involves an act of sodomy.
If convicted of aggravated child molestation, a person will also be guilty of a felony. A person convicted of aggravated child molestation will be punished by life in prison or by a split sentence of at least 25 years in prison followed by probation for life.
If convicted of either child molestation or aggravated child molestation, a person is also required to register with the Georgia Sex Offender Registry.
There are many kinds of sex crimes in Georgia. While some of them are considered misdemeanors, others are felony offenses and if convicted, then most of the time a person is a registered sex offender for life. If you are arrested for a sex crime, it is critical to understand your charges and the possible consequences.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a sex offense, contact a Georgia Sex Crimes Attorney now.