Georgia Criminal Defense Blog

Georgia Man Arrested for Molesting Three Different Children

Posted by Richard Lawson | Feb 13, 2020 | 0 Comments

A suspect out of Henry County has been arrested on five counts of child molestation, two counts of sexual battery, and one count of enticing a child for indecent purposes.

The charges stem from three different incidents with three different child victims. Authorities believe that all of the incidents occurred between 2018 and 2019.

Sex crimes in Georgia are handled differently than other types of offenses. Most of the time when a person is accused or arrested of committing a sex crime they are automatically viewed as guilty. This is before the case even goes to court. As a Georgia Sex Crimes Attorney, I will outline the law behind the offense of child molestation in Georgia in today's post.

Child Molestation in Georgia

According to Georgia law, child molestation in Georgia is defined as:

When a person does any immoral or indecent act to or in the presence of or with any child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person; or by means of an electronic device, transmits images of a person engaging in, inducing, or otherwise participating in any immoral or indecent act to a child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person” (O.C.G.A. §16-6-4(a)1-2)). 

To be convicted of child molestation, the state of Georgia must show that the accused person is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt by demonstrating that an immoral or indecent act was committed by said person to a child under the age of 16 years old.

A conviction of child molestation is a felony, and the penalties include five to twenty years in prison as well as counseling from the Department of Corrections. For a second conviction of child molestation, the penalty includes ten to thirty years in prison or a life sentence. 

However, if the victim is between 14-16 years old, and the convicted person is younger than 18 and no more than 4 years apart from the victim, then the crime will be considered a misdemeanor. 

Practice Note

Call our offices today if you have been arrested in the state of Georgia. We can help you now.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense and Criminal Defense. As a former Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. In DUI cases, you only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!

Menu