Reid Peterson was arrested earlier this week in Cherokee County. Peterson allegedly attached flashing blue lights to the top of his car.
He was arrested for operating blue lights on an unauthorized vehicle and possession of marijuana.
The officer said, “Peterson was pulled over after the officer allegedly saw his vehicle with flashing blue lights and no running lights, tag lights and an obscured license plate.”
Peterson was taken to the Cherokee County Adult Detention Center.
In today's post, I'll focus on the latter misdemeanor as it is a much more common crime in Georgia. Most people are confused about the crime of possession, and the repercussions that result from a conviction.
Possession of Marijuana
Possession of marijuana in Georgia is defined by O.C.G.A. §16-13-30(a):
“It is unlawful for any person to purchase, possess, or have under his control any controlled substance.”
You can receive a possession of marijuana charge even if you are not personally holding the marijuana itself. If you are found to be in control of the marijuana, then you are considered to be in possession of it.
In Georgia, there are two different classifications if convicted of possession of marijuana. A possession of marijuana charge for 1 ounce or less is classified as misdemeanor and includes jail time up to 12 months and a maximum fine of $1,000. A possession of marijuana charge for greater than 1 ounce of marijuana will be classified as a felony and includes fines and a prison sentence between one and ten years.
- Unwitting Possession: I did not know that I possessed marijuana.
- Illegal Stop: The arresting officers conducted an illegal stop and search.
- Lack of Possession: I was in proximity to the marijuana, but someone else possessed it.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a crime in Georgia, contact us today.