According to reports out of Cobb County, a local Georgia man has been convicted of molesting his girlfriend's minor daughter. He has been sentenced to 59 years in prison.
The District Attorney's Office revealed that the abuse had been going on for a while and that the young girl had even experienced an STD outbreak as a result of the neglect.
As a Georgia Sex Crimes Attorney, I will go into more detail about the law behind the criminal offense of child molestation in today's post.
Child Molestation in Georgia
Child molestation in Georgia is defined in OCGA § 16-6-4 as:
A person commits the offense of child molestation when such person:
(1) Does any immoral or indecent act to or in the presence of or with any child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person; or
(2) By means of an electronic device, transmits images of a person engaging in, inducing, or otherwise participating in any immoral or indecent act to a child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person.
A person convicted of a first offense of child molestation shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than five nor more than 20 years.
Upon a defendant being incarcerated on a conviction for a first offense, the Department of Corrections shall provide counseling to such defendant. Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, upon a second or subsequent conviction of an offense of child molestation, the defendant shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than ten years nor more than 30 years or by imprisonment for life.
Although this is a post about a man being found guilty, convicted, and sentenced for a sex crime - the reality is that not everyone who is accused of committing a crime is guilty of committing that offense.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact our offices today. We can help you now.