A mother in Cobb County, was arrested this past week after a stranger found her 2-year-old son wandering around outside in the apartment complex in 30 degree weather. The witness found him crying and shivering and then called the police.
Police reported that the mother had purposely left her child alone at her apartment in Kennesaw for at least two hours. The boy let himself out of the apartment during that time.
The mother was arrested and is now facing charges of reckless conduct.
As a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer, I will outline the law behind the criminal offense of reckless conduct in today's post.
Reckless Conduct in Georgia
Reckless Conduct in Georgia is defined by the Georgia Code as:
A person who causes bodily harm to or endangers the bodily safety of another person by consciously disregarding a substantial and unjustifiable risk that his act or omission will cause harm or endanger the safety of the other person and the disregard constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care which a reasonable person would exercise in the situation is guilty of a misdemeanor. O.C.G.A. §16-5-40.
Most of the time, reckless conduct is classified as a misdemeanor offense in Georgia. A misdemeanor conviction can include up to a year in jail as well as fines up to $1,000.
Examples of reckless conduct can include carelessly firing a gun, leaving a young child unattended, using drugs in a public area, etc. In reckless conduct cases, it is very important to have experienced representation by a Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact our offices today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment