Georgia Criminal Defense Blog

Georgia Teacher Attacked by Student During Class

Posted by Richard Lawson | Aug 16, 2019 | 0 Comments

Since the start of the school year, Georgia schools have been experiencing a rise in violence and crime. It has only been a few weeks but there have been many reports of incidents on various campuses as well as arrests.

A high school student at South Cobb High School allegedly punched a teacher in the face after the teacher asked if he had completed an assignment. Jaden Change, a 17-year-old high school student, was arrested on charges of battery.

The warrant for his arrest stated: “Chang stood up out of his seat and started cursing at the teacher and then started punching the teacher in the face area knocking his glasses off to the floor and causing swelling around the left eye.”

As a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer, I will outline the law behind the criminal offense of battery in today's post as well as the consequences one faces if convicted of the crime.

Battery in Georgia

Battery in Georgia is defined by the Georgia Code in O.C.G.A. 16-5-23 as:

A person commits the offense of battery when he or she intentionally causes substantial physical harm or visible bodily harm to another.

By law, visible bodily harm is defined as bodily harm capable of being perceived by a person other than the victim and may include, but is not limited to, substantially blackened eyes, substantially swollen lips or other facial or body parts, or substantial bruises to body parts.

The offense of battery is classified as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor in Georgia can result in 12 months of jail time and up to $1,000 in fines.

Georgia Misdemeanor Penalties are serious and can change a person's day to day life. However, there are certain situations in which the battery conviction will be escalated to a misdemeanor of a high or aggravated nature. The penalty for battery of a high or aggravated nature is up to one year confinement and/or fines. This includes:

  • If the battery is committed in a public transit vehicle or station. O.C.G.A. § 16-5-23.1(g)
  • If the crime is committed against a female, who is pregnant. O.C.G.A. §16-5-23.1(h)
  • If the battery is committed against a teacher or other school personnel engaged in their duties on school property. O.C.G.A. §16-5-23.1(i)
  • If the battery is against a person, who is 65 years old or older. O.C.G.A. §16-5-23.1(j)
  • If the person who committed the battery is an employee, agent, or volunteer at a long-term care facility and the victim is a person who is admitted to or receiving services from such facility or person. An example of a long-term care facility is an assisted living community or personal care home. O.C.G.A. §16-5-23.1(k)
  • If the battery was against a sports official during an amateur contest or while the official is on or exiting the property. O.C.G.A. §16-5-23(l)

Practice Note

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a crime in the state of Georgia, contact Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney now.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense. He exclusively handles DUI Cases. As a former DUI Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. You only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!

Menu