Jeffrey Holliday, a PE teacher at Mossy Creek Middle School in Kathleen, Georgia has been charged with one count of child molestation.
Houston County authorities arrested him after he resigned this past Thursday. According to reports the allegation is unrelated to his employment.
As a Georgia Sex Crimes Lawyer, I will outline the law behind child molestation in today's post.
Child Molestation in Georgia
Child molestation in Georgia is defined by Georgia Law in O.C.G.A. §16-6-4 as:
A person commits the offense of child molestation when the person either he or she does any immoral or indecent act to or in the presence of or with any child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person; or by means of an electronic device, transmits images of a person engaging in, inducing, or otherwise participating in any immoral or indecent act to a child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person.
Child molestation is classified as a felony. If convicted of child molestation, a person is facing between five and twenty years in prison.
People tend to believe that a person is guilty if he or she is accused of committing a sex crime. However, just as with any other crime, people are wrongly accused of sex crimes as well.
If you or a loved one has been accused of committing a sex crime in the state of Georgia, contact a Georgia Sex Crimes Attorney now.