According to reports out of Cobb County, a 19-year-old gang member held two 16-year-old girls captive in a hotel in the winter of 2016.
Jaylan Bennett had a gun and threatened the girls, forcing them to perform sex acts with paying men. This past month, he pleaded guilty to pimping and criminal gang activity in Georgia.
When most people think about pimping - they are reminded of pop culture, and how pimping is portrayed in the media. However, the law behind the criminal offense of pimping is actually quite different.
As a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer, I will review the law behind pimping in today's post as well as the penalties that can occur from a pimping conviction.
Pimping in Georgia
Pimping in Georgia is defined by the Georgia Code in O.C.G.A. §16-6-11 as:
A person can be convicted of pimping if they perform any of the following acts:
(1) Offers or agrees to procure a prostitute for another;
(2) Offers or agrees to arrange a meeting of persons for the purpose of prostitution;
(3) Directs or transports another person to a place when he or she knows or should know that the direction or transportation is for the purpose of prostitution;
(4) Receives money or another thing of value from a prostitute, without lawful consideration, knowing it was earned in whole or in part from prostitution; or
(5) Aids or abets, counsels, or commands another in the commission of prostitution or aids or assists in prostitution where the proceeds or profits received are to be divided on a pro rata basis.
Most of the time, pimping is classified as a misdemeanor of a high or aggravated nature. The penalties imposed will depend on the specific circumstances of the case along with any prior criminal history. However, the punishment will likely include fines, jail time, community service, and the requirement to register with the Georgia Sex Offender Registry.
However, pimping could be elevated to a felony conviction if the situation involved the participation of a person under 18 years of age. If the accomplices are under 16 years of age, the punishment will be 10-30 years in prison, a fine up to $100,000, or both. If the person is between 16 and 18 years old, then the punishment will be 5-20 years in prison, a fine between $2,500-$10,000, or both.
While the defendant in today's case was found guilty and convicted - that is just simply not the case in every situation. More people are wrongly arrested then we would ever like to admit.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact a Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney now.