Tyon Poindexter was arrested last Friday on charges of failure to register as a sex offender and giving a false address to a law enforcement officer. Authorities have been looking for him since he failed to register as a sex offender in 2016, and he eventually was found in a Fulton County library last week. His arrest warrants show that he allegedly lied to officers about his residence – explaining that second charge mentioned earlier.
Poindexter was charged and indicted on charges several years back. He was sentenced to two years in prison and ordered to register as a sex offender.
Why would someone be required to register as a Sex Offender in Georgia?
Sex crimes in Georgia, in which the victim is a minor or if the sex crime is of a dangerous nature, usually require the convicted person to register with the Georgia Sexual Offender Registry as part of his or her conviction. These sex crimes include: aggravated child molestation, rape, aggravated sodomy, and many others.
According to the Georgia Code, if someone fails to comply with the requirements by not registering as ordered and is convicted with the offense, it is considered a felony. The punishment if convicted is a prison sentence of 1 to 30 years. Also, the only way for someone to be removed from the Georgia Sexual Offender Registry is if the removal is ordered by a court. (O.C.G.A. §42-1-12).
Someone can also get charged if they know and reasonably believes that a sex offender who is not complying or has not complied with the rules of their registration – the offense is known as harboring, concealing, or withholding information concerning a sexual offender in Georgia.
What about the second charge? What is giving a false address to a law enforcement officer?
Giving a false address to a law enforcement officer in Georgia is defined by the Georgia Code as when a person “gives a false name, address, or date of birth to a law enforcement officer in the lawful discharge of his official duties with the intent of misleading the officer as to their identity or birthdate” (O.C.G.A. §16-10-25). If convicted, the crime is considered a misdemeanor, and the punishment can include a fine up to $1,000, up to 12 months in jail, or both.
Charges and arrests are generally embarrassing and life-altering - especially when dealing with sex crimes. Having a Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney who understands the effects that accusations like these have on your life as well as how the Georgia Criminal Process works in Georgia. The lawyers at Lawson and Berry have everything we need to defend your case and will walk you through every step of the way.
We believe that no one should be assumed guilty just because he or she has been accused of a crime. If you or a loved one has been arrested and/or charged with a crime in Georgia, contact a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment