Carrollton, Ga. – According to reports out of Carroll County, a substitute teacher has been arrested on 19 counts of child molestation.
The teacher has been accused of engaging in “indecent and immoral acts while in the presence of school-aged children.” She allegedly masturbated in front of the students, and there is video evidence. She is currently in jail at the Carroll County Detention Center and has been denied bond.
As a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer, I will outline the law behind the offense of child molestation in today's post.
Child Molestation in Georgia
Child molestation in Georgia is defined as:
When a person does any immoral or indecent act to or in the presence of or with any child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person; or by means of an electronic device, transmits images of a person engaging in, inducing, or otherwise participating in any immoral or indecent act to a child under the age of 16 years with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person” (O.C.G.A. §16-6-4(a)1-2)).
To be convicted of child molestation, the state of Georgia must show that the accused person is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt by demonstrating that an immoral or indecent act was committed by said person to a child under the age of 16 years old.
A conviction of child molestation is a felony, and the penalties include five to twenty years in prison as well as counseling from the Department of Corrections. For a second conviction of child molestation, the penalty includes ten to thirty years in prison or a life sentence.
However, if the victim is between 14-16 years old, and the convicted person is younger than 18 and no more than 4 years apart from the victim, then the crime will be considered a misdemeanor.
If you or a loved one has been arrested on criminal charges in the state of Georgia, contact our offices today. We can help you now.