Georgia Criminal Defense Blog

Suspect Arrested After Georgia Parents Contact Police

Posted by Richard Lawson | Feb 14, 2020 | 0 Comments

A 40-year-old man has been arrested in Cobb County after a 15-year-old's parents reported that he had been inappropriately conversing with their daughter.

The man allegedly agreed to meet with the girl in order to have sexual relations. He also allegedly boasted that he had sex with minors as young as 13-years-old. He has been charged with one count of enticing a minor for indecent purposes.

As a Georgia Sex Crimes Lawyer, I will outline the legal definition of the offense of enticing a minor for indecent purposes in Georgia in today's post.

Enticing a Minor for Indecent Purposes in Georgia

Enticing a minor for indecent purposes is defined by Georgia Law in O.C.G.A. § 16-6-5 as:

A person commits the crime of enticing a child for indecent purposes when he or she solicits, entices, or takes any child under the age of 16 years to a place whatsoever for the purpose of child molestation or indecent acts.

Asportation is an element in enticing a child for indecent purposes. There must be some taking or moving the child towards somewhere that an indecent act would occur. The taking could be accomplished by using force, enticement, or persuasion.

A person convicted of enticing a child for indecent purposes will be guilty of a felony. The penalty if convicted will be a prison term between 10 and 30 years. 

However, if the victim is between 14 and 16 years old and the person convicted is 18 years or younger and no more than 4 years older than the victim, that person will be guilty of a misdemeanor.

In addition to a prison sentence, the defendant will also be required to register as a Georgia Sex Offender. If required to register as a sex offender in Georgia, you must: 1. Provide the required information to the appropriate law enforcement official before you are released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation; 2. Register in person with the sheriff of the county in which you reside within 72 hours after your release 3. If you are homeless, you still have 72 hours to notify the sheriff of the county where you sleep. O.C.G.A. §42-1-12.

Practice Note

If you or a loved one has been accused of a crime, call our offices now.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense and Criminal Defense. As a former Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. In DUI cases, you only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today for Immediate Help

The time is now to start preparing your defense! Many times people lose the opportunity to put on their best defense because they wait. The importance of hiring a lawyer from the very beginning cannot be overstated! Waiting allows for witnesses to leave the area, evidence to be lost, and memories to fade. All of these have a direct effect on the successful on your case. The time to begin your case and start prepping your defense is now! Contact us today to put on your best Georgia criminal defense!

Menu