Newnan, Ga. - According to reports out of Coweta County, twenty-four individuals were arrested this past weekend as the result of a two-day sting.
The sting was originally geared toward human trafficking but it quickly changed to various arrests for different charges. The charges ranged from narcotic possession and dealing to pimping and prostitution. Authorities reported that they rescued a trafficking victim but that none of the other individuals were connected to her actually being trafficked.
As a Georgia Criminal Defense Lawyer, I will outline the law behind one of the offenses that led to the arrest of the majority of the individuals involved - pimping.
Pimping in Georgia
O.C.G.A. §16-6-11 defines pimping in Georgia as:
A person can be convicted of pimping if they perform any of the following acts:
(1) Offers or agrees to procure a prostitute for another;
(2) Offers or agrees to arrange a meeting of persons for the purpose of prostitution;
(3) Directs or transports another person to a place when he or she knows or should know that the direction or transportation is for the purpose of prostitution;
(4) Receives money or another thing of value from a prostitute, without lawful consideration, knowing it was earned in whole or in part from prostitution; or
(5) Aids or abets, counsels, or commands another in the commission of prostitution or aids or assists in prostitution where the proceeds or profits received are to be divided on a pro rata basis.
Most of the time, pimping is classified as a misdemeanor of a high or aggravated nature. The penalties imposed will depend on the specific circumstances of the case along with any prior criminal history. However, the punishment will likely include fines, jail time, community service, and the requirement to register as a sex offender.
However, pimping could be elevated to a felony conviction if the situation involved the participation of a person under 18 years of age. If the accomplices are under 16 years of age, the punishment will be 10-30 years in prison, a fine up to $100,000, or both. If the person is between 16 and 18 years old, then the punishment will be 5-20 years in prison, a fine between $2,500-$10,000, or both.
Call our offices today if you or a loved one has been arrested or accused of a crime. We can help you now.