As a Georgia Sex Crimes Lawyer, I receive a lot of questions concerning what happens after someone has been convicted of a sex crime in Georgia. The punishments for someone who has been convicted of a sex offense in Georgia are intense and most of the time, they're permanent consequences. The biggest consequence other than prison time is being required to register as a sex offender. The Georgia Sex Offender Registry is a serious consequence, and I will explain it in detail in today's post.
Sex Offender Registry in Georgia
Under O.C.G.A. §42-1-12, a sexual offender is any individual who has been committed of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or any dangerous sexual offender. These offenses include but are not limited to:
- Rape in Georgia
- Aggravated Child Molestation in Georgia
- Incest in Georgia
- Aggravated Sodomy in Georgia
- Enticing a Child for Indecent Purposes in Georgia
As I mentioned above - this list is not exclusive. There are other crimes that can result in someone having to register as a sex offender in Georgia.
The list of those who must register as sex offenders includes:
- People convicted of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor after July 1, 1996
- People convicted of a dangerous sexual offense after July 1, 1996
- People convicted of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996
- Persons who have previously been convicted of a sexually violent offense or dangerous sexual offense and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996
- Persons who are a resident of Georgia who intends to reside in this state and who is convicted under the laws of another state or the United States, under the Uniform Code of Military Justice, or in a tribal court of a sexually violent offense, a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor on or after July 1, 1999, or a dangerous sexual offense on or after July 1, 1996.
- A nonresident who changes residence from another state or territory of the United States or any other place to Georgia who is required to register as a sexual offender under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory, or who has been convicted in this state of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or any dangerous sexual offense.
To register, the sexual offender must register in person with the sheriff of the county in which they reside within 72 hours from being released from prison. If the offender is homeless, they must register with the sheriff of the county in which they sleep. Furthermore, they must renew their registration information with the sheriff in person with 72 hours of their birthday each year. They will also be photographed and fingerprinted.
If a sex offender moves to another state, they are required to register their new address with the sheriff of the county with whom they last registered. They must also register with a designated law enforcement agency in the new state within 72 hours after establishing residence in the new state.
You can also be charged for failure to register as a sex offender in Georgia. There are numerous ways that a person can be charged with this crime - either by failing to register, providing false information, or not reporting to the sheriff will result in the offender being guilty of a felony with a prison term between one and thirty years.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a sex crime in Georgia, contact a Georgia Sex Crimes Attorney today.